Factbox: Majority of House Democrats support Trump impeachment


(Reuters) – A majority of Democratic lawmakers in the 435-member U.S. House of Representatives have now said they support starting impeachment proceedings against Republican President Donald Trump.

The total stands at 135 lawmakers, a majority of House Democrats, whose ranks total 235 members. That is still short of the 218 votes needed either to pass a resolution authorizing a formal impeachment inquiry or to approve articles of impeachment against Trump.

More than two dozen Democrats joined the pro-impeachment ranks after former U.S. Special Counsel Robert Mueller’s July 24 congressional testimony about his investigation of Trump and Russian meddling in the 2016 presidential election.

Still more added their support during Congress’s August recess, which ended on Monday.

The current pro-impeachment list includes representatives from 33 states. The largest group comes from California, where 29 of 46 Democratic representatives are in support.

The following are the House Democrats who have expressed public support for an impeachment investigation:

Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona

Raúl Grijalva, Arizona

Greg Stanton, Arizona

Ruben Gallego, Arizona

Salud Carbajal, California

Pete Aguilar, California

Brad Sherman, California

Julia Brownley, California

Judy Chu, California

Alan Lowenthal, California

Barbara Lee, California

Doris Matsui, California

Eric Swalwell, California

Grace Napolitano, California

Jackie Speier, California

Jared Huffman, California

John Garamendi, California

Jimmy Gomez, California

Juan Vargas, California

Lucille Roybal-Allard, California

Mark DeSaulnier, California

Maxine Waters, California

Mike Levin, California

Nanette Barragán, California

Norma Torres, California

Ted Lieu, California

Tony Cárdenas, California

Katie Porter, California

Harley Rouda, California

Scott Peters, California

Karen Bass, California

Ro Khanna, California

Mark Takano, California

Jason Crow, Colorado

Diana DeGette, Colorado

Joe Neguse, Colorado

Jim Himes, Connecticut

Lisa Blunt Rochester, Delaware

Ted Deutch, Florida

Val Demings, Florida

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Florida

Danny K. Davis, Illinois

Jan Schakowsky, Illinois

Jesús García, Illinois

Robin Kelly, Illinois

Bobby Rush, Illinois

Mike Quigley, Illinois

Sean Casten, Illinois

Bill Foster, Illinois

Raja Krishnamoorthi, Illinois

Brad Schneider, Illinois

Lauren Underwood, Illinois

Andre Carson, Indiana

John Yarmuth, Kentucky

Cedric Richmond, Louisiana

Katherine Clark, Massachusetts

Lori Trahan, Massachusetts

Ayanna Pressley, Massachusetts

Jim McGovern, Massachusetts

Joseph Kennedy, Massachusetts

Seth Moulton, Massachusetts

Bill Keating, Massachusetts

Anthony Brown, Massachusetts

Jamie Raskin, Maryland

Dutch Ruppersberger, Maryland

David Trone, Maryland

Chellie Pingree, Maine

Andy Levin, Michigan

Brenda Lawrence, Michigan

Daniel Kildee, Michigan

Rashida Tlaib, Michigan

Betty McCollum, Minnesota

Ilhan Omar, Minnesota

Emanuel Cleaver, Missouri

William Lacy Clay, Missouri

Bennie Thompson, Mississippi

Chris Pappas, New Hampshire

Ann McLane Kuster, New Hampshire

Donald Payne Jr., New Jersey

Bill Pascrell, New Jersey

Bonnie Watson Coleman, New Jersey

Donald Norcross, New Jersey

Tom Malinowski, New Jersey

Dina Titus, Nevada

Nina Lowey, New York

Grace Meng, New York

José Serrano, New York

Eliot Engel, New York

Adriano Espaillat, New York

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, New York

Carolyn Maloney, New York

Nydia Velázquez, New York

Paul Tonko, New York

Yvette Clarke, New York

Kathleen Rice, New York

Brian Higgins, New York

Jerrold Nadler, New York

Alma Adams, North Carolina

G.K. Butterfield, North Carolina

David Price, North Carolina

Joyce Beatty, Ohio

Tim Ryan, Ohio

Marcia Fudge, Ohio

Earl Blumenauer, Oregon

Suzanne Bonamici, Oregon

Peter DeFazio, Oregon

Brendan Boyle, Pennsylvania

Dwight Evans, Pennsylvania

Madeleine Dean, Pennsylvania

Mary Gay Scanlon, Pennsylvania

Mike Doyle, Pennsylvania

David Cicilline, Rhode Island

James Langevin, Rhode Island

Steve Cohen, Tennessee

Sheila Jackson Lee, Texas

Al Green, Texas

Filemon Vela, Texas

Joaquin Castro, Texas

Lloyd Doggett, Texas

Veronica Escobar, Texas

Peter Welch, Vermont

Jennifer Wexton, Virginia

Don Beyer, Virginia

Gerry Connolly, Virginia

Kim Schrier, Washington

Suzan DelBene, Washington

Denny Heck, Washington

Derek Kilmer, Washington

Pramila Jayapal, Washington

Rick Larsen, Washington

Adam Smith, Washington

Gwen Moore, Wisconsin

Mark Pocan, Wisconsin

Reporting by David Morgan

Source link